Call for new HDR candidates in STS

The Alfred Deakin Institute and Deakin Science and Society Network are seeking individuals that are passionate about pursuing Science and Technology Studies (STS) as part of a fully-funded and well-supported PhD program. STS is a multidisciplinary field that explores how cultural and political forces shape technology, scientific knowledge and society.

About us

The Deakin Science and Society Network is an interdisciplinary initiative that supports science-literate social research and socially engaged science and hosts the vibrant PhD/ECR forum Australasian STS Graduate Network (AusSTS). The Alfred Deakin Institute is a leading humanities and social sciences research institute focused on understanding the complex meanings of citizenship, social inclusion and globalisation. Deakin University has a global reputation for innovative scholarship in STS. Deakin has provided high-quality off-campus education since its establishment, and is a leader in digital learning and supervision.

About you

We are looking for prospective PhD or Masters of Research candidates with backgrounds including, but not limited to: sociology, anthropology, history, political science, criminology, biological or environmental science, genetics, epigenetics, law, media and cultural studies, gender studies, Indigenous studies, philosophy and critical race studies. Successful candidates will receive scholarships of $28,092 p.a. for 3 years (or 2 years for Masters). PhD students are eligible for up to $10,200 additional funding across their degree for research costs, conference attendance, fieldwork and completion costs, in addition to free travel and accommodation to attend the annual HDR summer school. Selected projects may also receive a top-up scholarship of an additional $10,000-$15,000 annually for 3 years.

Topic areas

We are eager to supervise research projects in a range of STS areas in which our staff have expertise

(note: staff are listed in their primary area of expertise but many have expertise across more than one area):


Genomics, epigenomics, metagenomics, CRISPR

Prof. Emma Kowal, A/Prof. Maurizio Meloni, A/Prof. Eben Kirksey, A/Prof. Neera Bhatia, Dr. Jacqueline Savard, A/Prof. Jeffrey Craig


Digital cultures, cybersecurity and artificial intelligence

A/Prof. Radhika Gorur, Dr. Luke Heemsbergen, Dr. Monique Mann, Dr Thao Phan, Dr. Toija Cinque, Dr. Shiri Krebs, A/Prof. Melinda Hinkson, Dr. Leonard Hoon, Prof. Rajesh Vasa


Gender, sexuality and kinship

Dr. Gilbert Caluya, Dr. Jaya Keaney, Dr. Tessa Moll, Dr Kiran Pienaar


Medicine, health, law and bioethics

Dr. Christopher Mayes, Dr J. R. Latham, Dr. Cynthia Forlini, A/Prof. Dominique Martin, Dr. Emma Tumilty, Dr. Tamara K. Browne


Environmental challenges and multispecies worlds

Dr. Timothy Neale, Dr. Will Smith, Prof Reece Walters, Dr Laura Bedford, A/Prof. Euan Ritchie, Prof. Don Driscoll, Dr Adam Cardilini


History and philosophy of science

Prof Jack Reynolds, Dr Billy Griffiths, Dr Alex Roginski


Indigenous knowledges and race

Prof. Yin Paradies, A/Prof Tiffany Shellam, Dr. Victoria Stead 

How to apply

To apply, please directly contact your preferred supervisor from the list above by September 30th, 2020 for candidature commencing in 2021. Applications for 2020 are also being accepted on a rolling basis from now until September 30th, to commence by November 2020. Note: Competitive applicants typically require as a minimum an Honours degree with a first-class result, or equivalent (e.g minor thesis). Information about the application process is here. Applicants must be Australian citizens, permanent residents or international students currently in Australia and be pursuing full-time HDR study.